Gus

Hi! My Name Is Gus

Gus came to me 3 months ago after the passing of my last dog of 11 years. He is full of loving energy and unbelievably social - not a mean bone in his body. When I first got him he had some anxiety to process but within a month or so he acclimated nicely. Gus came down with IVDD a few months in and I was unable to afford the very expensive surgery. However he did receive steroids and painkillers that eventually got him walking again as if nothing happened. He's still slightly wobbly but gets around without any problems. I'm needing to place him because I've been told IVDD has the high potential reoccurring so he must be placed with a family that can afford that surgery if something happens. Apart from that Gus's pleasures in life are walks in the neighborhood, going on trips to new places, meeting and loving on strangers and other dogs, snuggling up next to you wherever you go. He's easy to train but requires a lot of bathroom breaks and knowing that he has access to the outdoors for potty time. I had a little bit of difficulty at the beginning realizing this as my last dog could go the entire day holding their excrements in. It seems that he now trusts that I will let him outside and is more willing to hold it in knowing that he will eventually be let out. He is crate trained and sleeps in his crate in the next room because his snoring can get loud. Apart from that he is a true buddy, very loyal, listens to his owner more than most in his breed and it breaks my heart to have to let him go.

  • Bulldog - French
  • Male
  • Youth (2-5 Years) ()
  • 21 - 30 Pounds
  • Black and White
  • Active and Playful
  • I Like All Kids
  • I Like All Dogs
  • I Like All Cats
  • Not Tested With Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Livestock
  • I'm Trained
Apply To Adopt Gus
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Gus
X